top of page
  • Writer's pictureIsaiah Jones

First Impressions: Winter 2019

The first week of the Winter 2019 season has concluded and I've been fairly satisfied with the shows I've been watching. There's been some serious hits and misses, but that's what makes a healthy season. The following is my list of power rankings based on what series will have the most potential.


To find out what anime I'm watching, skipping, and what specials I'm watching click: HERE


1. Yakusoku no Neverland

  • The Promised Neverland is easily my number one pick. Having known nothing about the series I jumped into the first episode expecting a slice of life story about orphan kids who were one day hoping to get adopted. With gore and dark twists ending the first episode I expect that this will hold the top spot for the season.

2. Domestic Na Kanojo

  • Given my tastes in genre I was thoroughly excited for this title. Love complex's have always been a favourite topic to me in anime and that's what Domestic Girlfriend brings. While watching the first episode it reminded me of how I felt watching Kuzu No Honkai (Scum's Wish), one of my favourite series, the first time. If the series doesn't go out of control with massive amounts of fan-service to take away from the plot, the series will be one of my favourites.

3. Boogiepop wa Warawanai

  • Boogiepop Never Laughs might be the most talked about show of the season so far, but will hold up to the standards it's been given? Madhouse has been known to deliver quality anime, but Boogiepop has consumers feeling confused about the series. Two episodes were released the day the anime dropped, and thankfully so. Personally I find the anime a little confusing too, but I recommend talking out and watching with friends to make sense of the series. Definitely an enjoyable series.

4. Kakegurui II

  • The much anticipated Compulsive Gambler series returns for a second season. Personally, I didn't think the series needed a second season, but I'm not complaining. I was wondering what they plot line was going to be for the season and in the first episode we were introduced to a plethora of new characters. As expected, Midaro returns and made an early run for best girl. Bless her heart.

5. Date a Live III

  • Rounding out the top five is Date a Live 3. It's been five years since Date a Live 2 and I couldn't wait any longer. It's no secret that Date a Live 2 is one of my favourite anime and if this series is going to be anything like its prequel it's going to be a good series. I was interested to see if a new girl would be introduced right away and I was answered promptly. However, it doesn't look like she will be joining the harem quite yet.

6. Mahou Shoujo Tokushusen Asuka

  • "Who laughs last laughs best" is the catch phrase for Magical Girl Spec-ops Asuka. I love how that sounds. 'Magical Girl Spec-ops'. Due to the amount of gore and violence in the first episode it's pretty safe to say that this magical girl anime will follow the dark themed magical girl genre. In this world, magical girls are scarce and acknowledged by the public. They each live their normal lives hiding the fact they are magical girls and answer the call of duty.

7. Kaguya-sama wa Kokurasetai: Tensai-tachi no Renai Zunousen

  • It's still early in the season, but this might be a contender for sleeper anime of the season. I haven't seen anyone talk about it other than a few dedicated forums to the series. Kaguya-sama: Love is War follows two characters Kaguya, vice president of the student council, and multi-talented genius and Miyuki, president of the student council, and a smart and logical boy. The two are both in love with each other, but wont confess first to each other. The anime is a back and forth chess battle of trying to get the other to confess which is an interesting idea for a show that I haven't seen before. The show reminds me of Karakai Jouzu no Takagi-san (Teasing master, Takagi-san) which aired in 2018.

8. Circlet Princess

  • Here's where the anime start to go a little downhill for me. Starting with Circlet Princess an anime about a VR game. The anime didn't capture my attention much in the first episode, but the bright side is that it can only go up from here. I hope. Circlet Princess revolves around the game Circlet Bout which are heroine, Yuuka partakes in. The anime is fairly generic but it is made by Silver Link studios so I do have hopes and will probably stick this one out for a bit.

9. Pastel Memories

  • I had high hopes for Pastel Memories, when I first read about this series. Anime has fallen, the earth is ending (not literally), and a group of Otaku girls are going to bring back the memories of people who have forgotten anime. I had imagined that this series would be about characters coming into the store and memories would consist of cameos of popular anime, but this was not the case. Instead the girls ran around town trying to collect volumes of a manga they wanted to remember...not really for me, but I'll give it a couple more episodes.

10. Watashi ni Tenshi ga Maiorita

  • Inherently, this anime isn't that bad. However, its Uzamaid sibling edition with a different story or re-skinned Uzamaid as I like to call it. Not only is it a very similar story, its the same studio, and just one season later. Probably going to drop this series.

11. Dimension High School

  • Rounding out the list is Dimension High School. When bad CG comes together with live action to make the ultimate isekai...interesting, but not good...Some of the jokes and problem solving in this anime require a knowledge of Japanese Hiragana. Even with an understanding, I still wasn't impressed by the show. Most definitely will be dropping.


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page